Home » Obsession Inducing Music (And The Like) » Friday Music: Daughter – Medicine

Friday Music: Daughter – Medicine

I’d been planning to do this song as the third Friday Music post for the past couple of weeks, and then I got torn over another song (that I heard for the first time about six years or so ago). There was a bit of confusion due to my technological ineptitude when it came to getting that particular song on here, so here we are. And it’s funny because, now that Friday has come around again, I really don’t think there’s any song more fitting currently than the one I’m sharing today. It’s just . . . appropriate, for right now.

The feel of the song is very . . . relevant, I suppose.

This song has been out for awhile, but I’ll admit that I only heard it for the first time several weeks ago when it was on So You Think You Can Dance. That’s my favorite reality television show, but due to cable box mishaps and frustrations, I missed a good chunk of this season (it’s one of few shows that I actually look forward to). I just so happened to be passing by on my way out to my shed to write one evening when it was on, and I caught the piece that now-eliminated-contestant Tucker danced with previous-contestant Robert, choreographed by Travis Wall (who is BRILLIANT, by the way). It was . . . beautiful. The story behind it was beautiful; the dancing was beautiful. It was just fantastic. But the thing that topped it off – as I’ve found goes with most routines on that show – was the music.

So, I listened to it several times on my phone while out in my shed that night, looked up the lyrics (to make sure I was hearing them correctly because I occasionally do NOT, even when they’re easy to understand), and did a lot of thinking over them. I feel this is a song that everyone can relate to, in some way or another, be it directly with themselves or something to do with someone close to them.

I think of it as straightforward with blurry lines. I love that.

Anyway, I’m going to also post a video of the dance that the two of them did below, in case anyone is interested in seeing it.

Happy Friday everyone, and have a lovely weekend.

One thought on “Friday Music: Daughter – Medicine

  1. Pingback: I have a new favorite. (Friday Music) | C. Miller

Leave a Reply

