Home » Obsession Inducing Music (And The Like) » Friday Music: A Silent Film – Let Them Feel Your Heartbeat

Friday Music: A Silent Film – Let Them Feel Your Heartbeat

A Silent Film is, respectfully, my second-favorite band. Sometimes they’re not; sometimes they’re my favorite too. They’re the only band (in my mind) that is on par with the magnificence that is Geographer. Sometimes, I have my moments where I love them more (probably because I’ve been listening to them for longer and some of their songs are just . . . SPECIAL to me, I suppose you could say).

There is something about A Silent Film’s lyrics. They aren’t the poetic masterpieces that are Geographer’s lyrics (that will leave you guessing after first listen and still guessing after a year of listening). But they’re special. They’re so simple, but have so much behind them, I think. When I say that they’re simple, it’s not that they’re simplistic. It means I GET them. Sometimes it takes a good deal of thinking, but they’re GET-ABLE, if that makes sense. Geographer and A Silent Film sit at two polar opposite ends of that universe. One, I love for the mystery. The other, I love for the understanding. They clash and yet, somehow, they coexist with one another in opposite sides of my heart where they belong.

This song, for example – it’s by no means their most elaborate song (lyric-wise), but I absolutely LOVE it for it’s simplicity and the meaning behind things. To me, there isn’t much confusing when it comes to the points that A Silent Film gets across. Some of their songs have some of the most blatantly effing brilliant words ever. I will post one of those at some point, I can assure you, but I had to do this one first.

There is SOMETHING about this song. The message is so clear and it has some of my favorite lines in any song, ever.

The first line: The devil puts words in my mouth when we’re close.

Easy.

My ALL-TIME favorite bit is: The heart is deceitful above all things.
So desperately wicked, who can really know it? Are you listening?

Isn’t it just?

That’s why I love this song. Maybe it’s the lines, and maybe it’s the way the lines are delivered. Or maybe it’s the entire point of the song as a whole. I LOVE what it’s talking about. I love everything about it.

There’s SOMETHING. I guess this is just one of those songs that (like the one I posted a week ago) does something to me I can’t explain – makes me feel something, makes me think about something. Who knows?

Okay, okay, maybe I do know.

One of the most amazing things about music is that it can INSTANTLY transport you somewhere. It can make you think about a specific moment, a specific person, some random thing that happened that you forget about until you hear a lyric or a few beats. Every song I’ve listened to more than 20 times does that to me. And I think . . . I think most of my ‘moments’ when it comes to songs are some of the only secrets of my own that I keep. If a song means something to me, that’s because it makes me think about something. It might be insignificant to most people, but maybe not to me. Insignificant or not . . . I’d never tell.

Is the fact that I’ve listened to it . . . I’d say . . . likely 500 times or so any indication of how I feel about it?

I love it.

I think I just realized something. My memory slips constantly. I think I just realized that some things won’t ever slip from me.

The beauty of music. Gotta love it.

7 thoughts on “Friday Music: A Silent Film – Let Them Feel Your Heartbeat

Leave a Reply

