Home » Obsession Inducing Music (And The Like) » Will someone do me a favor…

Will someone do me a favor…

. . . and listen to this song for me? Before or after I explain why makes no difference to me, so long as SOMEBODY listens to the song. It’s like two-something minutes long. LISTEN TO IT.

Okay, now I’m going to explain.

I’d imagine that most of you have no idea who that guy in the video is. Being an avid IMDB-er, and a big fan of perusing copious amounts of people and things on there (I know they don’t always have information first, that’s entirely beside the point), I will fill you in on who he is.

There is a movie coming out next year for the first book in the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. If you just so happened to read the excessive rambling that was The Liebster Blog Award, then you’ll know how I feel about those books. If you didn’t, I will say again that I loved them – basically – because Rose is one of my favorite female characters in any YA series I’ve ever read. She kicks ass and doesn’t even bother taking names.

Anywho, that guy up there singing in the video is playing in the movie – Christian Ozera, if you’ve read the books. And being the peruser I am, I happened to find that video.

Let me just say that I’m one of those people who – once a song gets stuck – cannot get songs OUT of my head. Some people miraculously have them leave after listening to them once – like it’s just some mild appetite that needs a snack here or there to be sated. I don’t know how TF people manage it, but that’s neither here nor there. Last week (I think it was), I had Dancing In The Dark stuck in my head for over three days straight.

I’ve been working, which some of you know. Let me just explain what happens to me when a song gets stuck in my head while I’m editing (which is what I’m doing right now, but the same principle applies for writing as well). I’m fine. I’m totally fine while I’m thinking about WORDS. But the INSTANT that I stand up, or fidget, or get distracted for one reason or another . . . it plays. Incessantly. I can do nothing for it. Listening to it only sticks it farther. Not listening only makes me WANT to listen to it. I am simply stuck with it for however long it chooses to stick with me.

That is my life. I always have some sort of music playing during those tiny little breaks (or not so tiny, depending on) where my brain shuts down for a moment, due to excessive thinking about WORDS. (UGGGGH, WORDS . . . I’m a little worn-down, if you can’t tell.)

This song has been STUCK IN MY FREAKING HEAD nonstop for DAYS. And for once? I am not complaining at all.

Okay, so now I have to tell the funnies. If you’re male (or female, for that matter) and don’t find the potential shamelessness of females where it pertains to males humorous in any way whatsoever, you may as well stop reading now if you’ve bothered to make it thus far.

He’s a good looking guy, I’ll admit it. It’s much easier to admit it to the entire world (or the two people who exist in my world on here) than it is to my husband.

Anywho . . . If you just so happen to look at the official Vampire Academy Facebook page (I’m linking that so you can look after I say it if you so choose), there is a picture of him on there shirtless in a pool. No big deal.

Alright, I will also admit that something along the lines of, “Hey, that’s pretty nice,” crossed my mind briefly enough while I was looking at all the pictures on there. (Yes, I did look at other pictures, thank you.) But something caught my attention.

The comments beneath it.

I was sitting here at the computer, laughing hysterically and relaying bits and pieces of those comments to my husband. Women were talking about their ovaries exploding. I am not kidding. I am not exaggerating. I am not taking liberties with it. That is LITERALLY what they were saying. I don’t think I’ve laughed that hard in a good long while. I was partially laughing because the thought of, “THE LACK OF SHAME WE CAN HAVE!” passed many times through my head. And partially because there was a smaller voice somewhere in there saying, “Man . . . I am SO glad I didn’t hear the term exploding ovaries when I was 18 or so. That would’ve been so worn out.”

Anyways, can you just imagine being that guy and seeing that you made women’s ovaries explode? (Not literally, of course. Come on now.)

I bet he’s going to be a happy guy indeed here shortly. He probably already is, but all of this is beside the point and was simply an errant thought or two.

The ENTIRE point of this is that I just need someone out there to tell me that him singing that song is as good as my head is telling me it is. I’ve heard Jason Mraz’s version, and I can RARELY say that a cover is better than an original, but it certainly is here in my opinion. And I like Jason Mraz pretty well to be honest.

It’s an extremely rare thing for me to say that I don’t care about a person’s acting ability when they’re going to be playing in a movie I’m looking forward to seeing, but I really don’t in this case. It has absolutely nothing to do with how he looks, and everything in the world to do with the fact that he needs to be making music (I’ll selfishly add, “for me to listen to.”) . . .

And am I the only one in the world who thinks there is something undeniably sexy about his voice on that song? Again – nothing to do with how he looks. I’ve listened to it without watching the video. I really have. And I’m being completely honest when I say that I don’t usually think voices are sexy.

I’m at least going to get my best friend to listen to this because I know, if there are two things in the world that woman appreciates . . . it’s good music and good looking men. I know she’ll think at least one of the two about it, but I’m not entirely sure which yet.

I feel like a horrible person, but the song was worth sharing, and explaining.

Kthxbai.

PS . . . He gets bonus points for being British. Juuuuust saying.

PSS . . . Major props from me to any woman who is woman enough to say something about a man being good looking enough to make her ovaries explode.

10 thoughts on “Will someone do me a favor…

  1. I am definitely one of those people that get songs stuck in my head. I almost go out of my way to not listen to one I really like before bed because it will get stuck and I hear it so much I start not liking it.

    • I was going to say, “I”m glad I’m not the only one.”
      Then I thought twice and want to say something like, “I am so sorry.”

      I get pretty miserable with it sometimes. But it also has its bonuses – especially if you’re easily entertained (like me), but are having a bout of boredom. 😉

      I literally have to listen to a singular song (I’m not kidding) about 1000 times before I actually get sick of it.

      If the play-count on that one up there rises a lot over the next month or two . . . you can probably assume at least a hundred of them or so are my fault.
      I JUST LOVE IT.
      It’s a little sad, I think.

  2. Oh, many a British actor has made many ovaries of teenage girls (and older women) explode [David Tennant, Matt Smith, Benedict Cumberbatch, Tom Hiddleston,etc.] – must be the accent and all their classical training. Dominic Sherwood does have a lovely voice, and makes for good eye candy, though for me, that’s an added bonus. For me personally, the Voice matters more (as well as acting ability) over the ovary-exploding looks (I lament at many of the recent film adaptations of musicals and all the eye candy that can’t sing well enough to do justice to the songs they are singing). Voices can be alluring and sexy, and can cause massive giggle fits (among those that make me squee with delight are Michael Crawford, Douglas Hodge, Anthony Warlow and John Owen Jones, to name but a few).

    I know next to nothing about the “Vampire Academy” series, so I don’t know if the series is a homage or rebuttal to the Twilight series or is something entirely different. I will be honest in saying that I’m not particularly a fan of stories that are primarily focused on love triangles or love angles [one character infatuated and “torn” between two other characters is not a triangle at all], and there seem to be a plethora of those kind of YA novels out there (each with their own twist.).

    But that’s just me.

    Also, was wondering about your thoughts on Twelve – I for one think he’ll bring some different depths to the character; and now we can have a complete clock.

    • I know you couldn’t tell it by what I was saying in that entry, but honestly? Not many actors really . . . ‘do it’ for me, you know?
      Don’t even get me started on Matt Smith. I WILL say that.
      But I just LOVE listening to British accents. I typed something up that should be going here, but I had to erase it because it just sounded creepy. You know how you can make statements aloud and they’re fine, but they’re totally NOT fine when typed out because you can’t really get the context? Yeah. It was one of those. Anyway. I love British accents in all their varying forms.

      I agree – the talent is definitely more important. I could get going on a rant about that, but I’ll spare you from it as my comments to you are always long enough as it is without ranting of any sort (they probably wouldn’t be if I could leave out things like OF ANY SORT, which is unneeded, and also all of these parenthetical asides that really aren’t talking about anything more than wasting typing space). Oh my gosh. Sorry.
      Anywho, I’m glad someone agrees with me. His voice is great. And yes, he’s nice to look at (my husband disagrees). I’m not complaining about looking at him, but my ovaries are . . . Yep, still intact. I seriously want to know who thought of that. I don’t usually find that sort of thing funny, but I couldn’t help it. It’s like . . . he’s just shirtless. That’s it.
      Talent. Right.
      Mostly, I like his voice and the looks are just a little bonus.
      I’m going to feel horrible if he’s like 18 years old.

      As for VA, I believe they came out around the same time (at least the first book) as Twilight. I know I READ them around the same time. I WILL say that the vampires do NOT sparkle in those books. There’s that. I love the whole vampire thing, just because authors can take so much leeway with it – the only undeniable common denominator is drinking blood. So you get sparkly vampires, and monster vampires, and then some that are between. It had an interesting kind of . . . I guess . . . um . . . societal structure? Plus there’s magic, which is always a bonus.

      Don’t get me started on love triangles, I could talk about those for days and I’ve already written a mini-novel here.
      (When are we going to start emailing so I don’t look so ridiculous for this?)

      As for Twelve (and I’ve also been curious how you were thinking about him), I am a little torn. I’m not so hopeless as I was a few months ago. I DID see a picture of him before I watched THE BIG REVEAL, so I was like, “NOOOOOO!” But then I watched the special and kind of have the idea in my head that – while he is not Matt Smith – he could definitely bring something to the table. I’m trying very hard to reserve judgment past a little bit of hope until I REALLY see him as THE DOCTOR.

      I saw a picture of someone doing that on Twitter – making a clock with pictures of The Doctor’s faces in its varying . . . brain is not working . . . can’t think of the word (I’ve been editing all night). Anyway, I want to do it.

      Wow this is a ridiculously long comment. SORRY!

Leave a Reply

