Home » Thoughts » The Perfect Day

The Perfect Day

It’s a little after midnight right now, which is my prime writing time, but I figured I would type this up really quick.

I’d sat down to go through some blog entries I had to read (in open tabs) and . . . well . . . okay, I’m starting off in the wrong spot. That was the point of me getting on here, but I should explain that I have the ‘Reader’ page open all the time, hoping that I’ll find more than ten minutes to sit down here. I’ve given up on catching up. So I’ve been hoping for about four or five hours (yes, it takes me that long – I’m following a LOT of people) to go through reading people’s entries to make up for it. I’m going to say in advance that I’ll be digressing with this, but I actually thought about making a VLOG (had a funny conversation with a friend about VLOGGING) to make up for my lack of reading. Why would that make up for it, you ask? Because I’d make a complete and total ass out of myself, that’s how. Probably won’t happen, but the thought crossed nevertheless.

Anywho, while the Reader was open, I just so happened to see an entry that Briana Vedsted just posted. Clicked on it, read it, commented. It was asking for blogging ideas. I’ve only had about one clever blogging idea ever, so I couldn’t help with that. Well, she replied back to my comment and gave ME an idea. How freaking awesome is that?

So I figured I would do that right now. I wasn’t expecting to be this many words in and stillย  not have said diddly squat about it.

Basically she said for me to describe what my perfect day of writing would be – how I would start the day, what I would eat, and what it would be like to be a full-time, worry-free author. It was so funny to me that I just couldn’t help myself.

*Clears Throat*

My perfect day of writing:

Wake up at 8PM.

Go out into my shed. Preferably Husband will have woken up before me and turned either the AC or the heater on, depending on the weather.

Sit down with fresh cup of coffee and a pack of cigarettes. (Yes, I smoke. I don’t want to hear it. This is my perfect day of writing and you’re not involved.)

Write until about 8 AM.

Eat.

Sleep.

Repeat.

That’s it.

You see . . . This is basically what I do anyhow. It’s not fair, I know. I get to be a full-time (I’ll not say the A-word without Aspiring in front of it) writer. I get to do that because I have a ridiculously awesome husband who – SOMEHOW – understands that what I’m doing is ‘working’ and doesn’t tell me to get a ‘real job’. Worry free? I think not. I’m a worrier by nature. And clearly, you can imagine all the worries that come along when you don’t have a ‘real job’. That’s not why I’m writing this.

I sat here this morning. Er. Yesterday morning, before I went to bed (responding to comments). And I realized . . . I could totally let this entire blog fall off the face of the earth while I’m writing. I could. I really, honest to goodness could. Not going to.

It was easier when I first started this new book and wasn’t SUPER into it. I’m into it now. I’m to the point where I’m talking to Husband about it while I’m not writing it. I’m either writing it, talking it, thinking it, or sleeping. Period.

I had a conversation with my friend yesterday . . . wait . . . No. It was definitely yesterday; I’m just getting my days mixed up here (I lost a day somewhere and found out about it . . . yesterday?). Anyway, it was about ‘the way that we write’. He can do about two million things at one time. I can’t. When I’m writing, I’m writing. I need silence, solitude, uhm . . . I was trying to think of another S word that would be fitting here, but I can’t. Silence and Solitude. Need those. And I just honestly can’t make the time for the things I WANT to do when I’m working on a book. Because I NEED to write and everything else is wants.

I was hoping I’d be done with it by the end of the month (I type VERY fast), but I’m a few hours late tonight so that’s looking less and less likely.

So the entire reason this was funny to me is because I wanted to say, “Don’t expect to see me for a few days.” I might be inside for a little (and I mean LITTLE) bit of time in the mornings before sleeping. Only because I have to eat something. Maybe my balancing isn’t as perfect as other people’s. Maybe other people can have LIVES while they’re writing books. I’m just slowly realizing that I can’t. So I’m prioritizing. I’ve got to get this thing done. Then I’ll take a little time off (a few days). Catch up on here as best I can. Yep.

I’m crawling back into my hole for a little while. I’ll be happier when I resurface.

Everybody should spend a few minutes thinking about what their perfect ‘day’ would be – whether writing, or in general. Give yourself the time to do it. Life is too short to be unhappy and wishing for things. Do it. Take the time. People will understand.

See you again soon.

๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “The Perfect Day

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚ Awesome! Sounds like a pretty good day…or night, whichever. You are very lucky to have a husband who understands you and your love of writing. And I loved your advice there in the end. Well said.

    • It’s always night for me. I’m nocturnal unless situations force me to change that for a day or so, but it’s always, always night (ideally). No distractions, no noises, no interruptions. It’s fantastic.

      Oh yes, I feel very lucky to have him. Words can’t even express his awesomeness.

      Thank you. I really think we all should take the time though. Sometimes . . . we just need it.

      • That’s pretty neat! I’ll bet the night is really quiet. But me, on the other hand, must sleep at night. I get cranky if I’m up later than 11. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I hope that I will find a man who will also give me loving encouragement in my writing endeavors.

        And I agree, we must take time before it is all gone.

      • Ah, the differences in people’s circadian clocks. My family is full of ‘day people’, but my husband and I are ‘night people’. Wow that sounds a little weird. Night People. Anyway, I am the complete opposite. If I’m awake during the day, I get extremely cranky. Which is sad, because I’m a big fan of THE SUN. LoL.

        Finding a partner that you can mesh with? Well, that’s all we can hope for in that avenue – meshing. If there’s anything I’ve learned in my life about it, it’s not to settle for someone who doesn’t – and couldn’t ever – understand you. Someone out there will. So I hope you find that person, just like I hope everybody on this planet finds a suitable match for themselves. It’s a difficult thing. Very, VERY difficult.

        Time flies.
        So quickly.
        Gotta catch it while it’s in front of your face.
        If you don’t?
        It’s gone.

  2. Pingback: My perfect day | When I Became an Author

Leave a Reply

