Home » Notes » Balance

Balance

I’m a little over 36k words in on my new WIP – the one that I’ve actually been WORKING on. It took me a bit of time, but I’m finally getting pretty immersed into it which is both strange, and nice. It’s coming along. Still don’t know exactly where it’s going, but I’m hoping that the story lets me be done in one book, rather than four or six. I’m thinking I might tell different stories FROM that world in different books, but I can’t express how badly I want to resolve a specific character’s story quickly (even if only to prove to myself that I can do it).

So that’s why I’m behind on reading posts here. I’ve been writing, writing, writing – trying to find little moments here and there to catch up. I’m working on it.

It’s also why I haven’t asked for guest bloggers yet. Well that, partially, and because I’ve asked two of my friends (REAL LIFE FRIENDS! Yes, I have a few of those) to be the first ones. They’re both busy, but hopefully it will happen sometime relatively soon because they’re both exceptional (both as writers, and in general). Not saying that you’re not exceptional too. πŸ™‚

I honestly don’t know how people manage to get so many things done while simultaneously doing other things. I feel like I’m running myself ragged right now. And it’s a LOT different this go-round (writing a book), now that I have so many other things to keep up with. The last time I was writing, I didn’t even have a cell phone. I got one during some stage of editing for the last series. Now I’ve got a phone which is constantly screaming game notifications at me (and the occasional text). Social networking, this blog. Writing a book, as many of you know, is such a consuming thing.

I’m trying to find a balance. Be patient with me . . . it might take me awhile.

I guess it’s just strange to me, wanting to crawl back into my little hermit-hole and feeling like I can’t do that anymore. This blog forces me to be OUT there when I want to retreat, and honestly? I’m grateful for that. It’s forcing me to realize that there is an entire world going on, outside of whatever world is taking place in my head at any given moment.

Change and adaptation are good things, as long as you’re changing/adapting in a positive way.

I need to learn how to balance. Hopefully it will happen.

In other news, I’m contemplating chopping all my hair off.

I’ve been thinking about a pixie cut for a very long time now, but I’m so worried. A) That I would hate it and spend three years of growing my hair out to fix it. B) That I will look like a boy. C) That people will take one look at my jawline and be like, “That chick could nom on some steel with that jaw.”

Husband is of no help with the decision. He would say he likes my hair short when it’s short, or long when it’s long. And of course my friends say that I’m being ridiculous, but how am I to know whether they’re saying that honestly or if they’re sitting there touching their fingers together and thinking, “You will look like a boy.” *cue internal maniacal laughter*

I don’t know.

That’s where I’m at.

Hope everyone has a wonderful morning/day/whatever.

πŸ™‚

 

 

10 thoughts on “Balance

  1. I find it helpful to have a general outline / summary for a story preferably before I start to write it (which might explain how I’ve been able to (very) generally plot out a dozen or so novels for the first series of my three part saga, as well as the general overview of the two other parts to this saga I’ve created, yet barely started to actually *write* the stories), so that you have some idea where the plot will lead you; though sometimes it works better if you play it by ear (so to speak).

    As for time management, I tend to block a few hours every day (usually in the evenings) to devote to plotting/writing/pondering, only emerging from the writing bubble when absolutely necessary.

    As for your hair dilemma, why not start small – perhaps shoulder length first, to see how it will look, then go the pixie route; then again, going by your blog photo (presuming that it’s a current one), I think you’d look fine with a pixie haircut – it worked for Emma Watson…

    • I’ve tried several times to outline or plot things out separately, but it NEVER works. The characters always end up doing what THEY want to, rather than what I want them to. I’m always impressed by people who can map something out and stick to it. It just doesn’t work for me. πŸ™‚

      The time management bit hasn’t really been working out as well as I’d hoped. Maybe I’ll get it down eventually. That’s what I feel like I’m doing at the moment – only emerging when necessary lol.

      My hair is actually around shoulder length at the moment. Maybe a bit longer. I haven’t paid attention to it because I haven’t worn it down in a very long time. haha.
      It’s a relatively current photo, though not as ‘current’ as I used to keep things. I think it was near the beginning of the year, which isn’t really very current at all, come to think of it. XD
      As for Emma Watson . . . that girl could have absolutely no hair at all and it would work for her. hahaha.
      But thanks for the encouragement. I’m still pondering over it. πŸ˜€

  2. Multitasking…EASY πŸ™‚

    Sometimes we can only give to what we can. If we give too much, we have nothing left for us.
    Keep going, I am proud. x

    • Honestly . . . I can’t tell you how awesome this comment was for me to get.
      I’ve been having some very guilty thoughts about the serious neglecting this blog has taken over the past few days.
      So this was like . . . (Sorry, I’m not quite awake yet – my brain isn’t functioning properly) . . . I guess a smack in the face reminder that I’m doing what I can, which I am. I’ve been on a ROLL with writing the past few days (apart from last night).
      So thank you. A lot.

      Multitasking (for me) is NOT easy. But I will devote some time on here tonight before going out and trudging forward into Writer Land.
      πŸ™‚

      • lol x
        We all come here to have FUN. And it should always be fun. I see the odd person taking the fun out of it with silly comments. It just blogging after all. So where in the world are you that you just woke up? Australia? πŸ™‚

      • You’re right. It should definitely stay fun all the time. I’m kind of a serious person a lot of the time though, so . . . Well . . . difficult thing to do.

        HAHA no, not Australia. I’m in the US. I’m just nocturnal. πŸ˜‰

    • Hahaha!
      Well, if your photo is any indication, cutting your hair wouldn’t be such a big decision for you (a few weeks of growing compared to years?? Hmm).

      I hope you’re finding some way to manage your time better than I have been!

      You keep on as well.
      You’ll keep on.
      I’ll keep on.
      And we’ll all keep on keepin’ on.
      XD

  3. Pingback: I’ve done it . . . | cnmill

Leave a Reply

