Home » Novels » Publishing: Which Way Do You Go?

Publishing: Which Way Do You Go?

I attempted to write this entry a week or two ago.  When I say attempted, what I really mean is that I actually did write the entry in its entirety, but then decided not to hit the Publish button because I wasn’t satisfied with the feel of it.  Despite making all of the points I wanted to make, I’m extremely glad that I was unhappy with it at the time.  Now, I have a few new things to add.  And now, I intend to leave out all of the nonsense…or most of it, anyway.

Given how close the first book in my series is to absolute completion (and what I mean by that is readiness to be published, not finished with writing), I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about publication.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s something I’ve thought about a lot over the past several years – even before this second series started working itself out in my head.  Of course, when you finish writing one – or even sometimes before that – it starts crossing your mind.  And those thoughts begin slowly as, “Maybe I should try to get this published.”  They soon transform into, “Yeah, I should definitely try to get this published.”  Then, once you’ve discovered a magical gem that was hidden somewhere in the depths of your being, it is finally, “This NEEDS to be published.”

When you reach the point where you’re either serious enough, or curious enough about publication, you begin doing research.  The very first thing you learn about?  Agents.  Agents are the heart of the publishing industry, pumping the blood – a story – through all of the appropriate avenues.  Agents help you get your book completely ready.  They handle the contracts you couldn’t begin to understand.  They support you.  They do everything.  They get you published.  That’s what you learn.

For a long time, I thought that was the only way.  Self-publishing was only for people who COULDN’T get published otherwise, or so I believed.  And I will go ahead and say that I’m more than aware that a lot of people who self-publish do it because they CAN’T get an agent, for whatever reason.

When you begin to dig deeper into everything – the way it all works, all of the options…everything – you realize that there are options.  There are pros and cons to both sides.  I’m not knowledgeable enough about the industry to list all of them as fact; I can only list off the big issues that are currently swirling around in my own head, where they pertain to my own work.

I will tackle the self-publishing first because, to me, it’s the easiest to tackle.

You pay for everything, right?  You pay for your cover art.  You pay for this, you pay for that.  It ends up being quite a lot of money, unless a couple thousand dollars is pocket change to you, or unless you’re extremely gifted at formatting and design (I am not gifted at either of those things).  There’s the – absolutely legitimate – concern that you won’t even make enough money back to cover the initial expense of it.  To me?  The money it would take is nowhere near pocket change.  It’s a big investment.

At the same time, in order to get people to buy your books – because how could they even know who you were? – you have to self-promote shamelessly.

Do I like the idea of that?  Uhm, yes, in a sense.  I like it that people are passionate about what they do.  Do I want to do it?  I am bashful and backwards.  You take a guess.  Am I passionate about what I do?  You have no idea how much.

Would I get over my bashfulness and backwardness to help my books?  No, but I would do what I needed to anyway.  I yam who I yam.  I don’t want to change who I am; I couldn’t, and I wouldn’t.  I like being introverted; I like sitting alone in a shed with as little human interaction as possible.  When I don’t talk, I don’t over-analyze every word that I said.  I don’t get nervous and sweat profusely.  Don’t we all like being comfortable?  Again, I would still do whatever I had to…it’s all just a matter of how happy I would be with it.

Alright…So NOW, the big question is…

Would my books ever reach their full potential if I chose to self-publish?  I don’t know very many people to be like, “HEY!  READ MY BOOKS!”

This is another one of those things that sends this horrendous sinking feeling into my stomach, worrying that something I do will be the reason my books fail.  Before, it was a concern about the crappy way that I write.  I’ve come to accept the fact that, while my blogging (and texting, and messaging) is horrible – my book writing?  Well…it’s really not SO bad.  It’s not great.  It could be better.

It could be a LOT worse.

Which gets me to the gigantic flashing neon sign in my head right now, when it comes to going the traditional route.  This was already the source of The Big Question Mark (and has been for the past few weeks when the realization actually struck me [and yes, it gets its own name]), but I can thank one of my friends for unintentionally solidifying it for me.

Editing.

I woke up and laid there on that day a week or two ago, resisting the urge to groan about being awake – as I do every morning (or afternoon, depending on the day) – and had one of those eye-twitch-inducing revelations that woke me right up.

What if I get an agent, then they send my book off to an editor that changes things without asking me?  What if they ruin everything?

That was the, “Oh fdhc,” moment that day.  The solidification changed the way I thought about it.

There were no expletives running around in my head, which is a feat in and of itself, as there are almost constantly expletives floating around in my head (even when I’m in a good mood).  There were no simpleminded, one-sided thoughts.

Not everyone is going to like my books (I’d realized that a LONG time ago), and that’s fine.  More importantly…not everyone is going to appreciate them, understand what I was going for, the feel I want them to have, etc.

A good, solid editing is important.  I’m a firm believer that you don’t have to get a ‘professional’ editor to do it.  What makes them professional anyway?  As long as you have someone who understands the written word – the way words are used, the way sentences flow, so on and so forth – what does it matter?  You can’t do that yourself.  You can do a damn good job editing your own work, but you still need other people to help in some way.  They see things that you won’t.  They’ll catch your too instead of who.  They’ll find the places where you thought you were being descriptive as all get-out (you can see it in your head…never mind the fact that you left those little details out), and really weren’t.  Editing is important.  It’s key to releasing a good book.

But.

There comes a point in time when you’re editing yourself where, if you touch it one more time, you’ll be doing more harm than good.

There also comes a point in time where anyone else touching it will absolutely destroy what you’ve done.  You have to know when that point is.

I’ll compare it to a beautiful, antique cabinet.  There is a difference between refinishing and slopping a bunch of paint over something.  There is a BIG difference between those two things.

This is where I’m torn, you see.

I want my character’s story to be told as well as it possibly can be.  Don’t we all want that for the characters that we nurture (sometimes torture), and love?

You have to know where that line is located.  You have to respect that line.  You have to respect yourself.

You have to know what you want out of the thing that you love so dearly and completely.

The most important thing is that I have to stay true to myself, and to my writing.  I want the story told as well as it can be told, but – above that – the story has to be the one that I wrote.

I can’t – and will not – change the way that I write, or the focus of my stories to satisfy anyone.  What in the world would be the point of doing this if I was that quick to say, “Of course you’re right,” without giving it a second thought and asking THE most important question you can ask yourself when another person has looked at your work.  Are they right?

More often than not, yes.  Yes they are.

To me, there is such a difference between adding a word, taking out a useless sentence, or moving things around and then completely twisting and distorting who I am as a writer.

I can sit there and drive myself insane all day long, worrying that I will be the cause of my book’s failure.

But the fact of the matter is…I would rather be the cause of that by staying true to myself as a person, and as a writer, than throwing every bit of myself out of the window because someone else suggested it.  I can’t do it.  I won’t do it.  If it’s a sinking ship, I will ride that baby down to the bottom of the ocean.  Do you want to know why?  Because someone out there will get what I was trying to do.  Someone out there will appreciate the characters that I love.  Someone out there will GET IT.  I would rather them get me than get some painted up, antique cabinet.

And that, my friends, is why I don’t know if I want to publish traditionally.  Could I?  Yes.  I believe wholeheartedly that I could.

WILL I?

I’m not sure.  But I can tell you right now that, if that happens…I will not let anyone destroy the integrity of my work.  Not to make it more marketable.  Not to make it easier to stomach.  Not to make it easier to understand.  Not for ANY reason in the entire world.

That’s just the way it is.

And now I’m hearing Bruce Hornsby in my head.

Could be worse.

17 thoughts on “Publishing: Which Way Do You Go?

  1. Hey there! 🙂 Best of luck to you with publishing. I’ll leave you with a few thoughts– learn as much as you can about the industry, which you’re already doing. As you head down that road, you’ll learn which route is best for you. Self-publishing isn’t for everyone, and neither is traditional publishing. You’ll eventually reach a point where you know which is best for you. I was traditionally published through a small press, which is something you might want to consider. There are lots of small presses out there, and many of them will take a look at your manuscript without the help of an agent. I didn’t have an agent. I’m happy to say I didn’t have to pay for anything– the publisher paid for my cover, formatting, etc., and I got some free copies of my book. Small presses are a great place to start, because when you decide to move up to tackle bigger publishers, they’ll see that another publisher thought you were good enough to publish, and it will reflect positively on you.

    This is becoming a long comment… Hope that’s okay… 🙂 …. Keep in mind that any publisher will want you to market and shamelessly self-promote. I know what you mean, though… I’m terribly shy myself. Fortunately, there’s a lot of online book touring companies, and you can market from the privacy of your home.

    Also, another thing to keep in mind… a good editor will not change your story without asking. There are horror stories about this sort of thing happening, but you can keep your eyes open by researching the publisher to make sure they’re legit and checking out the website Preditors and Editors.

    Oh, another helpful thing for marketing… When you’re researching publishers, or when you’re close to getting a contract, it’s always a lot more helpful if the publisher has a partnership with library distributors. Library distributors like Baker & Taylor, for instance, make your book a lot easier to attain. Without a link-up to these distributors, it’s much more difficult for a library to catalog a book or order a book. But your book will always reach more audiences if it’s available at libraries.

    Whew … And I’m done. Hope that helps. 😉 Have a great day.

    • Wow. Thank you so much – both for taking the time to give me (and anyone else who happens to stumble across this entry) that information, and for the information itself.

      I just found Preditors & Editors a few days ago actually, on the blog of an agent. It’s an amazing website, and I believe that everyone should know about it.

      I’d never even heard stories about editors doing that sort of thing until after the thought hit me, so I started doing some digging on the matter and was not pleased to hear that it actually happens. It might not happen often, but it happening at all is just so…WRONG, in my opinion. The thought of it terrifies me, even more so than self-promotion, haha.

      You brought up a lot of extremely helpful points that had never even crossed my mind. The library distributors? Yeah…mind blown a bit, honestly.

      There’s so much to all of this. It’s so easy to get overwhelmed by all of it sometimes, no matter how long you’ve been doing research.
      It’s always extremely nice to see people who know what they’re doing taking the time to share their experiences and give advice.
      It did help a lot. Also, long comments are always welcome. I have a tendency to leave them as well. 😉
      I hope you have a great day too. Thanks again!

  2. Really interesting thoughts here and ones I think all writers entertain when they reach the point of wanting to get their work out there. I don’t know a lot about publishing, so I’ll share my personal experience and hope it gives you some insight.

    My first book is due out in September. It’s being published by Entangled. I was lucky in that I did not have to go the agent route. I answered a call for submissions and sent my manuscript directly to the publisher. It actually ended up in an editor’s spam folder and I didn’t hear back for months. Just when I’d looked up how to write a follow up query, that editor contacted me to say he loved my story. It’s an amazing feeling, let me tell you!

    Anyway, a few months and staff changes later, a different editor sent me three pages of first pass notes. As I read through them, my heart sank. It felt like they wanted to change EVERYTHING. I asked the same question over and over: Why did they buy my story if they wanted to change it so much?

    I’m an optimistic person, so I looked back through the notes looking for the positive and it was there. I could see why they wanted my story (strong voice, good characters, plot) and after reading the recommended book on editing (Self-Editing for Fiction Writers) to figure out the reasoning behind the suggested changes, I got it. I understood what they were asking. They didn’t want me me to change my story. Not at all. They wanted me to write a better version. One that highlighted the good–voice, characters and pot–and did away with some of the amateurish mistakes I had made.

    It was hard letting go of some paragraphs, a couple scenes. Those were my words and I thought they were wonderful. I felt many of the same things you described. Would I lose my integrity by compromising? Would my story still be mine? After I made some notes and tackled the rewrite, finished it, and read through it, I realised two important things.

    1. The story was still mine. I wrote every word. I didn’t incorporate every suggestion, but I took most under advisement and that meant threads of thought flowed into characters and scenes–through me.

    2. The story was BETTER. Wow. I sat back amazed and thrilled by what I had accomplished. With some research, thought and notes from an editor, I had taken the idea of my original story and turned it into something I loved.

    I had to let go some of those new words in subsequent edits, but I understood why every time. The core of what I had created never changed, though. Even in the metamorphosis from first to second draft. Even though it doubled in length.

    Again, I’m lucky. I believe I landed with an amazing editor. Someone who understands story construction better than I do and, more importantly, who understands what readers are looking for. She helped me craft my story in a manner that would appeal to a broader audience. Yes, that’s what sales is all about, but I started this journey because I wanted people to read my work. I don’t feel I compromised. I feel I adapted.

    That being said, I understand my experience might be a good one and that other authors have not had the luck I had, or the class of editorship I enjoyed.

    So, to end this huge ramble: Best of luck to you in every endeavour!

    • Thank you to you as well for sharing your experience and knowledge. I feel that communicating with people one-on-one about this sort of thing is so much more insightful than just reading information.

      I can’t even imagine (well, I CAN imagine, but I’m sure I can’t do a feeling justice that I’ve never felt before) that moment when you got the response. It’s funny how life is sometimes. Just when you’re getting down, it throws you a pretty big bone. 🙂

      I do think you were very lucky to end up with such a helpful, thoughtful editor – especially in a publishing house. That’s where the horror stories I’ve read about have come from.

      It’s key to find someone who can understand and respect your writing, while looking for improvement. And I think that, as writers intending to publish, one the biggest – if not THE biggest – mistakes that we can make is to curl up into our little defensive ball and not be open to input and suggestion. As I said, I believe that more often than not, people give criticism for a reason…because it’s needed. We should be open to that, willing to listen and understand. At the same time, not everyone will be right about everything. This post was a semi-frustrated ramble-rant about staying true to myself, and understanding both the potential of my writing, and its downfalls. Being overly critical of myself makes me generally handle criticism like a pro; I always expect it. Criticism is much easier for me to handle than praise, as long as I can understand where it’s coming from.

      Best of luck to you as well! Your entry had be cracking up about the cover art – the floating heads and shirtless male lead. It sounds very interesting (come on…floating heads? How could that NOT be interesting?)…I bet September can’t come soon enough for you. 😉

  3. An editor’s job is to make your work the best it can be, not to change it wholesale so that it becomes their work. When you find a good editor, that person will work in concert with you and remember, there are a lot of different editing specialties. A content editor will take a look at the work and help you know what’s missing and what parts are too overdone and which pieces need to be moved around for better flow and so on. A copy editor will make sure your grammar is up to snuff and that part A matches part B. A proofreader will make sure there are no typos and that the formatting is consistent. In all these cases, you should have the final say. Any editor who comes in and rewrites your work (at least without running suggested changes past you) isn’t editing per se and is suspect.

    Preditors & Editors is a great resource. So is The Submission Grinder, a free submission tracker & market database. Duotrope is the granddaddy of submission trackers. As of last January it’s a paid-only site. Either of these last two can help you to find an independent publisher like rosysophia mentioned above (that’s how I found mine). If you decide to go the self-publishing route, sites like Writer.ly can help you find the support staff you need at reasonable prices. There are untold avenues into publishing, as you’re discovering, and no one of them is wholesale better than another – they depend on the type of work you’re writing and on your personal circumstances.

    Good luck, and keep writing!

    • I agree.
      It’s a little baffling, trying to figure out which editing you need done (at least for me). A small combination of all things? The entire process is just so confusing sometimes, with occasional moments of clarity that get swamped by the next giant wave of INFORMATION. I just can’t go on enough about how different all of the AFTER is, compared to the actual writing. It’s overwhelming. Which is likely why I’m always so grateful when people take time out of their busy schedules to share, trying to help all of the lost little sheep.

      I’d never heard of The Submission Grinder. I went and took a look at it, but still don’t really have a clue what its purpose is. I’ll figure it out. I will do some perusing on Writer.ly. I’m contemplating looking into some cover artists, rather than the giant package deals that some of those self-publishing sites offer (or the POD sites…hard to tell the difference in all of them). I’m still a little torn on what I should do, and what would be best for me, but I’m leaning more towards self-publishing. There really are so many options out there. Sometimes it’s hard to know where to start, and even harder to picture where you’ll end up when all of it is said and done (is it ever really said and done, or just another part of the process?)…
      And I thought WRITING the books was hard. Puh.

      Thanks for the well wishes, and same to you!

  4. Hey Girl! You made me laugh…if it’s a sinking ship I’m riding it all the way to the bottom! I’ll join you on that one. Stay true to yourself, fo’ sho! That’s why I sometimes think that writer’s groups can be a bad thing because if you get inundated with opinions you will lose sight of you and your own writing style. Another thought was that you don’t have to spend tons of money to get your book published as a self-pub. I’ve spent hardly any money at all getting my book out there. I do have some of the necessary skills though such as formatting (this you can teach yourself if you have Word) and some graphic design skills. I also have a friend who is a photographer and did a photoshoot for me in return for some graphic design services. Also she edited my book for me for free, so that was pretty sweet. If you’re looking for someone as you describe, a person who is good with words, grammar and sentences I could hook you up with her. It’s not her full time job but she does a fab job and will give you info about plot holes etc too if she notices anything. Anyway, there are ways to do it without going too crazy. And the marketing afterward can be as expensive or as cheap as you want. Finding book bloggers to read is easy and most of them are willing, however they have huge back logs of books so your reviews might take a while to come out. But…that’s the beauty of self-pub, you set your own time lines and your book can be out on the shelves forever. No one is pulling anything but you. So…yes, it will consume your life and it’s hard, but it’s completely doable if you have the stamina and the desire…and it seems like you do!

    • 🙂
      Glad that I could make someone laugh. I guess my humor is a little…dry, so it’s always surprising when anybody tells me that anything I said was even remotely funny. It happens, and I never understand why. XD

      I’m also glad that you understood what I was saying – just about staying true to oneself and nothing else.
      I’ve never had any experience with writer’s groups to know what they’re like. I’d imagine that they could be interesting, but I definitely understand what you’re saying. My writing voice changed a great deal on its own after writing nearly every day for a few years. The change of improvement is so different than the change of adaptation to another person’s style. We should all be proud to be who we are – quirks in writing and life, and all – rather than feel inferior due to other people’s seemingly perfect style and quality. Some of my favorite books aren’t necessarily my favorite due to the writing (although a well-flowing story can due wonders for immersion into a world), but end up that way due to the style of humor that the characters have, or the strength of a well-developed female lead, etc.

      As for teaching myself formatting…Not gonna happen, lol. I have a difficult enough time getting everything left-aligned (how it starts out, which was a bit of an exaggeration, but still)…That’s like with the cover art; I’m more than aware that someone else could do it WAY better than I ever could. I would rather save up the money and pay for it when I can than screw it up (which I most CERTAINLY would).

      Thanks for the suggestion of your friend. I’m about thiiiiiiiiis ( ) close to being completely satisfied with the entire thing as a whole. I’m crossing my fingers in hoping that I won’t need another look until it’s done (other than things currently in motion, or trying to be put INTO motion), but I will definitely remember the offer. I meant absolutely no offense by that; I don’t know if it sounded rude. I’m just hoping that it will be done soon and I can stop working on this one and move on to my next story, whatever that may turn out to be.

      Yeah the thought of paying for marketing just blows my mind, really. I know some people buy book reviews. I read a blog about that yesterday, but I’d heard about it before that. I know someone who knows someone who did that. It’s deplorable to me. But I know that you can pay to have your book advertised on sites and whatnot. Aren’t most of them sold by word of mouth, though? (Like by book reviews and whatnot, and friends telling friends?). I don’t know anything about that, but I would think that would be the way that they were sold, more so than by the advertising.

      Stamina? Welllllll…I have that when it comes to writing. I guess I just get a little flustered with the interacting. Mostly because…well…look at this comment and how long it is. I always think that nobody could POSSIBLY want to take the time to read what I have to say, regardless of the fact that I love taking the time to read what other people have to say. I’m just a social mess, honestly. LOL. The passion is carrying over and overriding the lack of everything else.

      Thanks for leaving the comment, and sorry for my long-winded reply. 😛

  5. All these people apologizing for their long replies. Puh! Isn’t that why we’re on WordPress and not tweeting each other? Anyway, on with the show. I first wanted to apologize for anything I said that might have been construed as me trying to change your work. I wasn’t. I was just offering an opinion. And secondly I wanted to let you know that I LOVE your setup and characters (and don’t worry. I won’t expound on anything here).

    Editors can be squinky creatures, and no two are ever the same. I remember when I did extensive editing work for others, and they were so shocked that I wasn’t trying to change everything. I think it depends on what you really want an editor to do for you. Do you want grammatical help, work on sentence structure, or do you want someone to completely format or re-format for you? The type of editor you need can really affect your decision when editors come a-calling.

    Also, I love the interactions about stamina. Writing is hard, keeping all of those balls in the air, maintaining focus and trying hard not to fall into those dreaded plot holes. It can take a really long time to adjust, to focus, and to maintain that focus. And when you’re talking series books, like you, that’s magnified even more. I give you all kinds of credit for knowing your characters, for taking them on these incredible journeys, and for maintaining your sanity while doing so. I don’t know if I have the type of stamina it takes to do something like that over the course of multiple books. It’s hard enough doing it for one. But stamina is also about the waiting game, the rejection game, and figuring out your next move (when it comes to traditional publishing). You hit the nail on the head with self-publishing, though. You need stamina and serious self-promotion skills to try and get that book out there and read by as many people as possible.

    As for libraries, my life is a librarian, and having her as a connection is amazing for me and my book. She has made it possible for me, even having a self-published book, to have it in the library system here. Anyway, my point is that there are many avenues to get your book into places. Talking to people is one of the best. Once they see how sincere you are (and you are incredibly sincere, by the way), they will do many things for you. Believe me.

    • I tend to apologize for leaving long comments on people’s entries. You do make a good point though, lol.
      One day, I will figure out Twitter, but that’s irrelevant.

      I think you and I just had a miscommunication on both ends pertaining to that. I’m pretty sure we were just running parallel with one another, if you get what I’m saying. I won’t expound in details about that either, because you know how I feel about things being expounded. And I appreciate that, by the way.

      I think the key with editors of any kind is to find someone who understands both you, and your work, and will respect both of those things.

      For me, writing series books is actually easier than a single one. It gives me so much more room to let the characters grow in a natural-seeming way (to me), rather than just throwing a giant crap storm at them to force them into it. Plus, I get to know them better, as you said, and can spend more time with them. Thanks for the credit. That’s pretty awesome. I was going to make a lame joke about a card, but I’m going to leave it out. I’m too tired at the moment to do it justice.

      You’re definitely right about stamina during the AFTER part. I’ve got the stamina for writing because the exhaustion from it is more enjoyable. I’m sure I will feel this rewarding sense of accomplishment when everything is said and done (either way), but right now I just want to pull my hair out.

      Your wife is seriously awesome, from what you’ve told me. She seems to go above and beyond the level of support that a person can hope for. You’re very lucky.

      LOL I actually had a conversation with Husband today about talking to people (where it pertains to the book and trying to figure out how to get it out there). It’s such a mortifying thing for me. I just want people to read it, and hopefully like it. That’s all that matters to me. It might be ridiculous (and also have a big dose of my realistic-leaning-toward-negative-view), but I just worry that I’m almost irrelevant when it comes to getting people to read it. People read a book, then they tell other people, then they tell others. My reach is limited, any way you look at it.

      I feel like it’s tossing a leaf into the breeze.

      I’m sorry. I think I need to go to sleep. Haha.

  6. Thanks for stopping by my Blog. I am currently waiting for the signed contract to be returned from a traditional publisher. I have signed away rights that a self published author would retain which was the part that gave me concern. I will just have to see how it goes. I enjoyed reading your view. I hit follow so I can read more.

    • You see…that’s EXACTLY what I’m afraid of…
      I seriously hope that you end up having no reason to be concerned. I will cross my fingers for you!

      I’m following you now as well, so I will be sure to check out your blog to read about your progress in this mad world of writing books and then getting them out into the world. I wish you all the best. 🙂

      • Thanks. I just got a call that the contract is in the mail (one of the seven biggest lies) and the MS goes to the editor on Monday. I will start reporting progress when that agreement is in my hand

  7. Oh my gosh, some of what you have included here rings so true for me. I have been writing for a few years, I have stories ready to be published and yet, even after research I am still no nearer getting my work out there (to be bought)! It is frustrating. I considered self publishing, but feel the expense and of course the marketing of myself would be a little fruitless. I thought of my blog, and then thought, I haven’t even got 300 followers for it yet, so how well do I actually self market myself and my work – ummmm, not well!!! It is good to know there are others feeling the frustrations too. Thanks for posting, I appreciate it as it is has helped me!!!
    Bex

    • It’s pretty awesome, having someone say that one of my entries helped them in one way or another (even just knowing they’re not alone) because I always think I’m rambling pure nonsense. haha

      It is an EXTREMELY difficult decision – what to do. At least it has been for me.
      I’ve also been writing books for the past several years and don’t have any of mine out there yet. It will happen one day.
      I do have worries about self-publishing. The expense, of course. But mostly the marketing, as you said. It’s a terrifying thing.

      But hey, you’re one follower closer to 300 now. 😉
      -C

      • Well, it is true, it has helped. It was good to read something about publishing where the person wasn’t all; ‘Hey, I have done this and it is SOOOOOO easy’. I just like someone being honest, and describing the difficulties without the smugness (it is refreshing)!!!!!! I just have always felt people are quick to say they have achieved being published, and then also forget how difficult it was and almost refuse to offer advice to others. Now, I am rambling!!!! Sorry.
        Yes, I am sure one day your book will be out there too. I just think, and hope; if is the right path it won’t pass me by! I think it is never really too late to be published (there is no age cut off limit), so I certainly have time to at least try!!!
        Thanks so much, I appreciate that – your very kind 🙂
        Bex

      • I don’t think ANYTHING about this is easy. Where in the world have you seen people say that it is? I’d say that I’d like to give them a piece of my mind, but I’d rather not. I’d rather just sit back and think that they’re out of their minds.
        Is that a smug thing to say? I don’t think it is. Smugness doesn’t sit well on anyone, I don’t think.

        Unless the publishing fairy fell down out of the sky on these people, I honestly don’t understand how ANYONE could forget the difficulty of it all. You feel free to ramble, because I’m finding this extremely interesting. Outside of blog-world, I always get this impression that nobody is willing to help (offer advice, etc.) anyone else, but here in blog-world it seems everybody is like, “HEY! HERE’S SOME ADVICE! TAKE IT!”
        So I’m curious if you’re talking about outside of it, or here.

        Hey, the way I look at it is: Sometimes you’ve gotta make your own path. I say don’t concentrate so much on whether or not they’ll pass you by. You’re the one walking, so trudge yourself along through the woods and whatnot and just go for it.
        If that’s what you want? What do you have to lose?
        🙂

Leave a Reply

