Home » Notes » Author Excitement…

Author Excitement…

It’s contagious, isn’t it?

I’ve said it before on here that I had no idea what to expect when I started this thing.  Kind of silly, isn’t it, to have never contemplated the fact that I would be interacting with other writers on an outlet where everyone is a writer of some sort?  I could laugh at myself for it, if I didn’t feel so ignorant.

If I could go back with that knowledge – a week, two weeks, a year…what would I think?

A very small portion of me wonders if I would’ve been jealous.  I am not a jealous person by nature, as I feel that no one person has any more or less to offer than the next.  But given that I’d never had a dream before the AUTHOR dream…Would I be jealous to see other people living it while I was struggling to keep my head above the water?

It’s a very small portion that thinks – at first glance – I very well might have assumed I would be.

I am not jealous.

I am the furthest thing from it.

I keep going to these random people’s blogs.  Some of them have books published; some of them are struggling to get through writing their first.

Some of them are raging in excitement over a request for a manuscript, or the first glance at the finished product of the first thing the world will see of all their hard work – the cover.  The availability of the finished product – a piece of their life, ready and waiting for the world to grab hold of.

I’m not surprised that I feel no resentment, but I am somewhat surprised by my own reaction towards all of it.

I keep smiling.  I am so excited for these people, struggling and prevailing.  I am so excited for these people to be having the moment that I am so looking forward to having myself – the moment that I will have, one way or another.  And I’m smiling now as I write this.

I smile when someone seems genuinely appreciative of anything that I have to say to them.

This website is somewhat exhausting.  I feel like I don’t have enough hours in the day to do everything that I want to, but…it’s worth it.

So, to all of my fellow authors out there – whether aspiring, like me, or established – I will say to you now the same thing that I try to say to all of you I come across.

Good luck.

And I mean those two words, more deeply than I can express.

 

9 thoughts on “Author Excitement…

  1. I’m with you on this. I wasn’t sure what I was getting into when I started a blog here, but the amount of support and the sense of community I found here has been astounding. Everyone has been so welcoming.. and it’s somewhat of a relief to find a place where everyone’s kind of in the same boat I am… and it’s just so.. personal to be able to connect to everyone, authors and the aspiring. I’m also an artist so I spend a lot of time in other creative communities but for some reason, there it seems like everything’s a big competition. Here, we’re all just in the same boat, merrily floating along and handing out survival provisions.

    • It’s kind of crazy, isn’t it?

      Competition is one word that I wished I’d put into this entry (while I was watching Doctor Who an hour or so after hitting the Publish button). Just the lack of it on here blows my mind. Maybe it’s the fact that everyone’s stories will be different so, regardless of genre, no one is ACTUALLY competing? Maybe it’s that there can never be enough books in the world? Maybe it’s the feeling of connection. Or to see a ‘familiar’ face who can hand out those survival provisions you mentioned. Or maybe it’s just so simple that – in some way – we as people care about other people.
      Who knows?
      I’ve been going over all of it in my head almost constantly for the past few days. I should probably give up because I don’t think I’ll ever figure it out. I should stop turning it over with a stick and just be grateful for it.

      I’ve got to say…it’s really nice not to float alone.

  2. Good luck to you ma’am! I wish you all the best in your writing career.
    I am actually doing an author interview program on my blog, and was wondering if you’d care to participate.
    It is my goal to work with aspiring authors (I’m one myself) and help them with their ‘publishing platform’.

    • Wow.
      Yes, I would love to do that actually.

      I think it’s a very wonderful thing to help others in that way, especially while going through the same thing yourself. Writing books and trying to get published is such a consuming thing…it’s hard not to focus every bit of your attention to it. Good for you. That’s just further proof of what I was saying here. It’s so beautiful.

      Thank you, and good luck to you as well.
      =)

  3. I found myself smiling as I read this. It excites me to know you are so excited, and that you’re smiling, about this. And you’re right, you WILL have it one day.

    Good Luck to YOU, as well! 🙂

    • It’s easy to smile about this sort of thing, but (after our ridiculously long/ridiculously enjoyable phone conversation the other night) you know it’s more difficult to smile instead of stress about my own work. Well…it’s about 50/50. I can smile easily when I’m not running my brain ragged with worries.

      Thanks for all the encouragement.
      We ALL need a bit of luck in this world, I think…
      I’ll take that and stick it in my back pocket for a rainy day.
      I’m resisting the urge to check and see if it’s started raining in the past two seconds…
      XD

Leave a Reply

